Basic Proteins

Steamed Chicky Seitan

So this is pretty much my new favourite base to a meal.

It takes a little prep, and the steaming takes a while, but it is worth making a big batch and freezing it so you have a super tasty protein base ready to go anytime.

I couldn’t find the recipe on Post Punk Kitchen but I did find it here >
However I would really recommend buying the book, the more recipes I make from it, the more I think it is a great investment.

The recipes says to mash the chickpeas with a potato masher but I used a stick blender and it cut them up to the perfect consistency. But if you are into a rougher texture for your chickpeas then totally mash them.

steamed-chicky-seitan-1

Anyway, I grilled up the seitan and put it on a salad with iceberg lettuce, tomato, capsicum, snow peas, red onion and hemp seeds with a lemon tahini dressing and it was incredible. I ate it before training and for the whole session I was super full of energy.

steamed-chicky-seitan-2

Standard

Leave a comment