Stews, Chillis & Curries

Bhindi Masala with Black Eyed Peas

So I have a confession, before this recipe I had never eaten Okra. I knew all about it, in theory… well I knew it was the main ingredient in gumbo. I also knew it was slimy when cooked. And it is weird because I’m usually ok with strange textures in food. I love mochi, I love those pearls in asian drinks and I really dig sago, but the idea of okra put me off for some reason.

Anyway, I started this recipe with a bit of trepidation. But I didn’t need to freak out because it was awesome! I even cheated and used frozen okra from the local health food store and it didn’t wreck it.

The black eyed peas really bulked it up and complemented the okra.

bhindi-masala-2bhindi-masala-3bhindi-masala-1

Standard

One thought on “Bhindi Masala with Black Eyed Peas

Leave a Reply

